Home   Recent News   Members   Committees   Events   Documents   Contact Us

Dr. L.I. Hewes Award

History | Description | Nomination and Voting Procedures | Plaque | Past Recipients

1.  HISTORY (Return to Top)
The Dr. L. I. Hewes Award was originally created in 1951 by Western Construction magazine, a journal devoted to engineering and construction in the western states, to honor Dr. Laurence Isley Hewes. Dr. Hewes occupied a rather rare position in the old Bureau of Public Roads before it became the FHWA. He was located in San Francisco, and it is believed his title was Deputy Commissioner of Bureau of Public Roads, Western Region. Dr. Hewes was one of the principal WASHTO organizers. His superlative contributions in every phase of highway engineering gave great impetus to western highway development.

On November 22, 1950, Mr. James I. Ballard, Vice-President and Editorial Director of King Publications, publishers of Western Construction, wrote the officers and Executive Committee of WASHTO stating that Western Construction would like to establish the Dr. L.I. Hewes Award to be presented during the annual WASHTO conference. The award was created to perpetuate the name and achievements of Dr. Hewes.

In 1951, WASHTO and Western Construction agreed on the rules governing the award. In 1968, Western Construction dropped sponsorship of the award, and the Western Chapters Conference of the Associated General Contractors of America assumed sponsorship. The award is now sponsored solely by WASHTO.

2.  DESCRIPTION (Return to Top)

The award consists of $1,000 and an appropriate plaque. WASHTO state organizations nominate potential recipients, and members of the WASHTO Board of Directors volunteer to select the winner.

The award recognizes the recipientís outstanding contribution to the highway development program, and must go to an individual actively engaged in highway development in the West with a WASHTO state organization. In the interest of recognizing and stimulating contributions made by those advancing in the ranks of highway organizations, chief administrators and chief engineers and their principal staff assistants, and any individuals nearing retirement, will not be considered for the award.

Other criteria consideration:

  • Developed efficiencies in business practices for program/project delivery in all phases of transportation development and operations
  • Built partnerships within an agency, within a state, region or nationally
  • Provided enhancements and benefits to employees of the member Departments
The award is presented during the WASHTO Annual Meeting. The winner is invited to attend the banquet where he or she will be given the award, with all expenses reimbursed. The winner may bring a spouse or guest, for whom WASHTO will reimburse up to $750 in expenses.

The committee has no obligation to make the award if it finds no nominees worthy.


WASHTO Presidentís responsibilities:

  • Request nominations from the WASHTO Board of Directors.
  • Make the request in January and set the deadline for late March or early April.
  •  Nomination form should include return-to address (WASHTO Presidentís address), recommending organization and official, name of nominee, address and phone number of nominee, and the WASHTO member organization in which the nominee works.
  • When nominations are in, choose five to seven Board of Directors members to serve on the Hewes Award selection committee, also selecting on as lead. (Choose from states that did NOT have a nominee.)
  • Bind all nominations into one book (see previous yearís nominee book). Send the book, with cover letter to the selection committee.
    • Selection committee Lead will contact other members to coordinate discussion of nominations and to make selection.
  • After all the votes are in, call the CEO of the winnerís agency with the results. The selection is technically CONFIDENTIAL, but winner and guest are invited to Annual Meeting to receive award. WASHTO pays all traveling expenses for the recipient and up to $750 for the questís traveling expenses.

4.  PLAQUE (Return to Top)

WASHTO Secretary will be responsible for plaque which will include recipientís name and state:


Dr. L. I. Hewes Award



State Department of Transportation


Mike Tooley
Vice President
Roger Millar
Lori Ryan
Joel Jundt
South Dakota
WASHTO members employees who died while performing their job. Read more...
L.I. Hewes award winners and other significant awards received by WASHTO members. Read more...
WASHTO will provide up to $3,000 per fiscal year for each member state to support an existing quality program or to start a quality program to reward employees for exceptional service. Refer to Section 4 of the WASHTO Bylaws for additional information on the Quality Support Fund Program. Read more...
Home |  Members |  Committees |  Events |  Documents |  Contact Us
© 2009 Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials